ScoreHero
Home | Forum | Wiki
Inbox [ Login ]Inbox [ Login ]
SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist
ProfileProfile Log inLog in
Help for a novice double bass player

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ScoreHero Forum Index -> Technique, Style, and Gameplay -> Drums
View previous topic :: View next topic  
nextneilpeart95  

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 10:00 pm    Post subject: Help for a novice double bass player Reply with quote

First, I'm new to this side of the forums so if I'm breaking any rules or don't know acrynoms for songs, excuse me, I'll get better in time.

So about 2 weeks ago I got Pacific Drums Dp402s from guitar center to use for my acoustic set. I have had no double bass experience before that time. But since I use a Yamaha KP65 for my RB/GH setup, this morning, after a couple days of "training" (Rudiments, slow alternation, ETC) I decided to try them out on GH. As it turns out, I wasn't half bad. I passed One and Fade to Black on my X+ sightreads. But now I want to get better. I'm looking for songs to get better on. I'm trying to get better at:

Double Bass fills(I believe they are similar to quad fills)

Fast double bass

Fast triple kicks

So yeah. I only have GHVH and GHM as of Present, but I'm thinking about GH5 as well.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Get GH:WoR instead of GH5, there are quite some songs with Roll + 4 Basskicks and another roll after, like Black Widow or Waidmann's Heil.

Fast Double Bass: Play Painkiller on GHVH, the Refrain is somewhat fast, but doesn't quite compare to Raining Blood or War Ensemble from Slayer.

Fast Triple Kicks are in the updated X+ Chart of the Shortest Straw for GH:WoR's Metallica Import.